Local success is being toasted in Dun Laoghaire tonight following the Volvo Dun Laoghaire regatta prize giving this afternoon. The bulk of the major trophies were divided among sailors from the waterfront Dublin Bay yacht clubs or Howth at the end of four days of racing. The major overall prize went to the Class III IRC winner Supernova who produced three wins and three second places in a 38 boat fleet, the biggest class of the regatta. The biennial regatta is being hailed an enormous success both afloat and ashore as a combined fleet of 420 boats raced over nine courses and a range of conditions since racing began last Thursday, 7th July from full gale to flat calm.

The cruisers zero IRC winner, in the biggest turn out of the class this year is Alan Chambers and Norbert Reilly's Crazy Horse. Steven Cowie's Beneteau 40, Zephyr from Royal Gourock was 4 points behind the Howth winner with the Dufour 42 Grand Cru from Clyde Cruising club three points further adrift.

In Cruiser one IRC the prize went to the National Yacht Club's Something Else (John & Brian Hall & Sue McDonnell). Second was Scotland's Carmen II (Paul Scutt/ Alan Jeffrey) and third Bengal Magic (John Moorehead/ Chris Ferres). In class two Howth's Impetous lifted the IRC trophy from a fleet of 21.Second was Sligo traveller Conor Ronan sailing Ruthless, a Corby 25, Third was the half tonner King One (David Cullen) from Howth. In the one designs class champions prevailed in the SB3, the Sigma and the Flying fifteen classes.

The next Dun Laoghaire regatta will be held in early July 2013!

  Sun Scotsmansbay Course  
  Sunday Apres Sail  


All images on this website are protected by copyright under International law. Use of the website implies acceptance of the terms & conditions and privacy policy.